Directions: Add 4 Cups of Books and 3 Cups of Veggies to pot. Simmer, stirring occasionally. Season to taste.

Moral Disorder and Other Stories by Margaret Atwood


Moral Disorder and Other Stories follows one woman named Nell through different periods of her life. In the form of several short stories we see her as a child taking care of those around her, as an adult finding her way on her own, as a mistress, and a wife and mother and everything in between. We glimpse at quirky pieces of furniture that come to define a part of her life, at a mattress on the floor of her lover’s home and how knitting a cover for it can quickly become an agreement, a choice made, a path taken. While reading this I felt like a bit of a voyeur; like I was seeing through Nell’s eyes as she was looking back over all of the moments she’d lived that were important to her, and all the time she had no idea I was there sharing her secrets; secrets that prove it’s not only the happy moments that define us and set us on our course. As Nell says when thinking back on a particular memory…

“Yet I think of that period as having been a happy time in my life… Happy is the wrong word. Important.”

Margaret Atwood is brilliant with words and captures perfectly an average life and all the emotions that come along with it. I haven’t read anything by her previous to this but I definitely plan to check out more of her work now that I’ve finished this collection. I’ve just started Oryx & Crake and I’m really enjoying it so far.

Rating: 4/5


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s